On Biblio, "Purge and Replace" simply means that all your current inventory is made inactive, and is replaced by the file you have sent.  That is why a purge and replace file should always be a complete inventory file.


If you want to submit a purge and replace, and you are uploading your inventory by FTP:


Simply add the word "purge" to the file name, anywhere before the file extension, and your inventory upload will automatically trigger a purge and replace.  For example, if your file is named "biblio.txt", you will want to re-name it "biblio_purge.txt" or "biblio.purge.txt" (the "txt" is the file extension in this case).  


If you have any questions about how to name your purge files, contact us at bookseller-support@biblio.com and we'll be happy to help. Let us know what software/format you are using to upload. An example of your standard file name will be helpful.


If you are uploading your inventory via the Upload Books option in your BiblioDirect bookseller menu:


You can either add the word "purge" to the file name, anywhere before the file extension, OR you can check the "Perform purge and replace?" box on the upload screen. Please note that if your complete inventory file is 50 MB or larger, it will need to be uploaded via FTP.


We do recommend uploading a purge and replacement of your inventory every three months or so.  If you have an inventory of 50,000 books or more, please contact us at bookseller-support@biblio.com about the best methods for submitting a purge and replace of your inventory, as larger files will take additional time to process.  It may be necessary to upload your complete inventory in several smaller files.


Note about previously uploaded photos: Uploading a purge and replace will not affect any book images you have already uploaded, as long as you have not changed any of your inventory numbers. For details about adding photos, click here.